Happiness

This week I have been thinking of happiness, and what really is happiness. Sometimes it´s easy to fall into the temptaion of thinking “I´ll be happy whennn…..(fill in the blank)” When I find a good job. When the semester ends. When it stops being so hot/cold outside. For missionaries: “When I learn the language. When transfers come. When I can teach perfectly…etc.” But really when we do that, we are really deciding never to be happy at all! There is always something to improve, some trial to overcome, but does not mean we can´t be happy. Being happy means understading that we came from the presence of a Father who loves us, that He has a purpose for us to grow and learn here on the earth, and that we have the divine potential to return to his presence, and live in z state of never-ending HAPPINESS! Our purpose is to have joy. Does that mean that hard things won´t happen? Of course not. But I know I am happiest when I can feel the Lord helping me through the hard things. They are vital to our happiness. One thing I have realized as I have read the New Testament, is that Christ´s life was not perfect, but He lived it perfectly. He had trials, hard times, temptations, heartbreaks, and suffering. He understands more than anyone else what it is like. Thanks to His perfect atonement, we can choose to be happy NOW. The atonement is the key to true happiness, and obedience is what makes us worthy to recieve these blessing and how we show our gratitude for that divine gift!

I love you all so much! We still have so much work to do here in Rama Aeropuerto, and I know these next six weeks will be full of miracles!!

“Depend on the Lord, enjoy every opportunity, and delight in the life you have” – Kristan M. Oaks

Love you!!

Hermana Ward

Leave a Reply

