Primera Semana en Mexico

Hola Todos! This week has been long and hard and good. We arrived Tuesday night to our little house. We live in a city called Toluca in a colonia called Sauces. It´s a little suburb that reminds me a lot of Flagstaff! We live in a tiny blue 2 storey house. I will get you some pictures next week! My companion (or my mamá) is Hna. Gonzalez. She is from Mexico and has been out about 16 months. She is the sister training leader for the zone. She is actually at a meeting in the mission home in DF (Mexico City–Distric Federal) right now, so I am on an exchance in a place called Independencia with Hna. Toole–a redhead from AZ!   Hna Gonzalez is a great missionary, and is helping me a l,ot with my spanish! She is learning English, so sometimes she´ll ask me what certain words mean like ´freak out´and ´sketchy´and then I have to try to explain to her…hahaha. The first few days were a little hard because out house didn´t have running water. We had to shower using buckets of cold water! Then we got the water to work, but the boiler (water heater) was broken, so we didn´t have warm water! But then a member came and fixed it on friday, so we have warm water now! I was extremely grumpy those first few days…hahaha. The food has been fairly normal–nothing too crazy! Lots and lots and lots of tortillas. And I got a bon bon for Dia de Los Muertos! Sooo good. The people here are very kind, and the members treat us really well. Our Bishop own a pizzaria down the street, so we see him a lot! and a sweet member, Hna. Lulu, has a papeleria (craft store) like three dorrs down from us, so she always takes care of us–she is like our little mom out here. Hna. Gonzalez and I are opening an area, so it is alot of work because there is very little information to use, so a lot of out time is contacting. Part of our area includes some pueblos out in the middle of cornfields.It{s a long walk, but it is beautiful. Dia de los Muertos was so cool! Lots of people have big altars dedicated to their family members who have pased on, and they are so pretty!

Some things I have learned this week:
No one can pronounce my last name
I have never been taller than so many people in my life
Mexico is COLD!
Never ask for a little more food, because the second helping will be bigger the first, and you HAVE to eat all of it!
The Gospel is true everywhere!

I know that the Lord loves the people here so much! I´ve been able to experience a little of that love this week. I am hoping the language will come sooner than later, but I know the lord has a plan. He has graven us on the palms of His hands. Somos hijos de Dios! (We are children of God). I love you all and I pray for you ALWAYS!

HASTA LUGO MUCHACHOS!

HERMANDA WARD 🙂

Leave a Reply

