Last email from the US OF A!

Hey team!

Sooo I leave for Mexico in TWO DAYS! So exciting! I’m going to miss my district and the people I have met here so much, but I can’t wait to meet the wonderful people of Mexico. This week we had an activity called “‘In-Field Training” where we went to main campus and spent ALL DAY learning more about what it will be like when we get to our missions. It was a long day, but I feel like I learned so much. One thing the teachers always say is “talk to everyone!” And in my head I think, “But I can’t even speak Spanish!!” Hehe. But I know the Lord will provide help and strength.  This week we have been doing a lot of practice lessons–focusing on teaching people, not lessons. We have been focusing on seeing and treating others as friends whom we want to help, rather than lessons to be taught. It has been a very good week. I am working on trying to memorize as much vocabulary and conjugations as I can before I get to Mexico where people speak a million miles an hour. We were talking to this sweet lady from Chile in the temple the other day, and she was telling us how she was taught the Gospel by 2 sister missionaries a long time ago. She said  it was one of the Hermana’s first day in the country and she could barely speak the language. The Chilaen sister said, “All that sister missionary could say was: ‘I know that this message is true.’ But I could feel such a strength in her that it made me want to know more!” I thought that was such a sweet story! God asks for our very best, and then He takes care of the rest.

I wanted to share a quick quote this week! It’s from a talk called, “The 4th Missionary” by Lawrence Corbridge. It says, “In the end, your heart is all you have to give that the Lord does not already have. If you give your time, two years, and your strength, you give only that which He grants to you with each beat of your heart and each breath you draw. Everything you have to give the Lord  has its origin in Him except one thing: your will. He does not have your heart, nor your mind, unless you give them to him. It is the only gift you have to offer that He does not already have. And so when you give yourself, you truly give everything to Him.”

I just love that! God id so good! Life is good! I hope you all have a wonderful week!

Leave a Reply

